This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Georgia

Georgia is made up of 12 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Georgia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Georgia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Georgia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Georgia

There are 12 regions in Georgia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Georgia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Abkhazia Abkhazia1.242,862Sokhumi Sokhumi81,546
Ajaria Ajaria2.370,030Batumi Batumi121,806
Guria Guria3.141,827Ozurgeti Ozurgeti20,636
Imereti Imereti4.703,485Kutaisi Kutaisi178,338
Kakheti Kakheti5.395,456Telavi Telavi21,800
Kvemo Kartli Kvemo Kartli6.518,120Rust'avi Rust’avi50,000
Mtskheta-Mtianeti Mtskheta-Mtianeti7.122,576Mtskheta Mtskheta7,423
Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti8.48,571--
Samegrelo and Zemo Svaneti Samegrelo-Zemo Svanetis Mkhare9.474,100Zugdidi Zugdidi73,006
Samtskhe-Javakheti Samtskhe-Javakheti10.207,443Akhaltsikhe Akhaltsikhe17,298
Shida Kartli Shida Kartli11.320,657Gori Gori46,676
T'bilisi K'alak'i T'bilisi12.1,106,539Tbilisi Tbilisi1,049,498